FORWAARD Aboriginal Corporation

Foundation Of Rehabilitation With Aboriginal Alcohol Related Difficulties



MINUTES OF ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

Date: 20 November 2018
Time: 5 pm – 6.30 pm
Venue: Common room at 33 Charles Street

1. Open and Welcome - Meeting commenced @ 5:20 pm

The meeting was chaired by Margaret Rajak who opened the meeting and welcomed those present. Acknowledged the Larrakia people and elders past and present on whose land the meeting took place.

Attendance:

Member	Office	Present	Apology	Absent
Margaret Rajak	Chair	✓		
Joe Brown	Vice Chair	1		
Leon James	Treasurer		✓	
Margeret Friel	Secretary			
Lorraine Tomlins	Director	7		
Rosie Tipiloura	Director			✓

Guests: Vikram S Sandlin, Noel Clifford c/- Nexia Edwards Marshall NT Accountants – name changed in 2018 from Barry Hanson accountants

FORWAARD Staff:

Sheryl Thomson, Business Manager Rikki Fischer, Communications and External Relationship Manager Stephen Versteegh, Executive Director

FORWAARD Residents:

Katrina Woodroffe, Rita Hippo, Kim Pryor, Augustine Tunmuck, Brian Whitehurst. Bianca McMahon, Trent Ward, Terrence Ward, Jeff Rogers, Danny Wanambi

APOLOGIES: Leon James

2. Acceptance of Previous Minutes

Confirmation of 2017 Minutes. A copy of these minutes have been provided in the 2018 annual report

Moved: Margaret Rajak Seconded: Margeret Friel Motion carried unanimously

3. Presentation of Reports

3.1 Chairperson's Report

Spoken to by Margie Rajak. A full report is provided in the 2018 annual report

Moved: Margaret Rajak Seconded: Joe Brown Accepted unanimously

FORWAARD Aboriginal Corporation

Foundation Of Rehabilitation With Aboriginal Alcohol Related Difficulties



3.2 ED's Report

Spoken to by Stephen Versteegh. A full report is provided in the 2018 annual report

Moved: Stephen Versteegh Seconded: Trent Ward Accepted unanimously

3.3 Financial Audit Report

Spoken to by Noel Clifford - Nexia Edwards Marshall NT Accountants. A full report is provided in the 2018

annual report

Moved: Noel Clifford

Seconded: Margaret Rajak **Accepted** unanimously

4. Election processes

4.1 Voting process explained – as per clause 6 of the rules book

Stephen Versteegh outlined that all current Director's position are now vacant and outlined the voting process for the election of the 2019 Directors. He outlined that section 6 of the rules book described the eligibility to be a Director of FORWAARD Aboriginal Corporation these are:

Be over 18 years of age

Be a member of the Corporation

Be an Aboriginal or Torres Strait Islander person

Usually, reside in Australia

Not be an employee of the cooperation - notwithstanding clause 4.1 wherein exceptional circumstances a director may be eligible to be a temporary employee if all directors approve

Not a minimum of 4 directors and up to a maximum of 12 directors must be appointed – each director must provide consent in writing to be considered for the role

The current positions were declared vacant, and nominations were called.

5. Election of Officers:

5.1 Chairperson

Written Nomination received from Margaret Rajak.

The nomination was seconded by Lorraine Tomlins.

No other nominations.

accepted the nomination and was elected unopposed.

5.2 Deputy Chair

Written Nomination received from Joe Brown.

The nomination was seconded by Lorraine Tomlins.

accepted and was elected unopposed.

5.3 Treasurer

Written Nomination received from Leon James. The nomination was seconded by Margeret Friel No other nominations

accepted and was elected unopposed.

5.4 Secretary

Written Nomination received from Lorraine Tomlins.

The nomination was seconded by Margaret Rajak.

No other nominations.

FORWAARD Aboriginal Corporation

Foundation Of Rehabilitation With Aboriginal Alcohol Related Difficulties



accepted and was elected unopposed.

5.5 Ordinary Members

Written Nomination received from Margeret Friel. The nomination was seconded by Joe Brown accepted and was elected unopposed.

No other nominations for Ordinary members were received

6. Appointment of an Auditor for 2017/18

Nexia Edwards Marshall NT Accountants

Moved: Lorraine Tomlins.

Seconded: Joe Brown

Motion carried unanimously

7. Any other Business

- 1) ED explained that he had received a call from Rosemary Tipiloura on Wednesday 14 November whereby Rosemary had indicated that for personal reasons she would not be seeking re-election as a Director in 2019. ED thanked Rosemary for her time as a Director
- Chairperson announced that the 2018 Board of Directors had reviewed the ED's contract and had decided that:
 - a) A new contract from 5 February 2019 had been developed and that this contract would be for a 5 year period.
 - b) Additionally, the Directors had decided that the position required a title change to reflect the status of the corporation's leader. Henceforth the position of Executive Director (ED) has been changed to the Chief Executive Officer (CEO)

8. Next Board Meeting - Tuesday 18 December 2018

·		
Meeting Closed: 6:30 pm		
Moved to accept the 2018 AGM minu	es Seconder,	